Plan Commission

The Whiteland Advisory Plan Commission serves to oversee land use and development in Whiteland in order to promote the community’s quality of life. 


Under Indiana law, the plan commission is responsible for the following:

  • Preparing a comprehensive plan.
  • Preparing a zoning ordinance and a subdivision control ordinance
  • Making recommendations to the legislative body on proposals to amend the text of the zoning ordinance or subdivision control ordinance
  • Making recommendations to the legislative body on proposals to amend the zoning map (rezonings)
  • Approving or denying proposals to subdivide land, based upon compliance with the subdivision control ordinance
  • Approving development plans
  • Assigning street addresses

Plan Commission members

The Plan Commission membership is comprised of four residents appointed by the Town Council President and three members who are elected or appointed officials or employees of the Town.

  • Eric Funkhouser
  • Tim Brown
  • Richard Hill
  • Gary Howard
  • Justin Lien
  • Andy Marker
  • Josh Wade


The Plan Commission has regularly scheduled meetings on the first Tuesday of each month at 7pm. See the meeting page for the current schedule.

Town of Whiteland Post Archives

Town of Whiteland
Administrative and Town Hall Business Hours


Regular office and utility hours are Monday – Friday
8:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. and from 1:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.

549 Main Street, Whiteland, IN 46184
(317) 535-5531

After-hours utility emergencies:
(317) 530-0222


Thank You for Visitng